Navarro College recognizes that Faculty are the primary change agents for academic activities that empower students to achieve their personal, academic and career goals and that promote lifelong learning for all communities served In addition to teaching responsibilities.


The faculty has primary responsibility for such fundamental areas as curriculum, subject matter and methods of instruction, and other matters directly related to teaching and learning.  The faculty also recommend the requirements for degrees and certificates. These are accomplished through faculty association meetings, academic council, and through institutional effectiveness measures such as assessment of student learning outcomes and annual and comprehensive program reviews.


The College also recognizes that Faculty are an integral component in the operation and success of the College.  As such, Faculty serve the institution and its mission through activities that transcend the classroom.  These shared governance activities include:


Department Chairs and Program Coordinators: Department Chairs work with the Deans to ensure course offerings reflect student needs, procure necessary instructional resources, and maintain positive communication and coordination with part-time instructors. The following are specific responsibilities of Department Chairs:

  • Assist in recruiting, screening, and hiring qualified part-time instructors
  • Coordinate textbook selection
  • Create departmental syllabi
  • Promote departmental communication
  • Ensure resources and mentoring is available to part-time Faculty
  • Collect course assessment data
  • Supervise and facilitate departmental program review
  • Assist in the development and coordination of departmental class schedules
  • Assist in training of new full-time and part-time faculty
  • Assist in the production of semester schedules to ensure that appropriate courses are scheduled in both scope and number.

New Faculty Appointments: Full-time Faculty are actively involved in the appointment of new Faculty.  Faculty are appointed to screening and interview committees as part of the new Faculty selection process

Committees:  Faculty serve on a number of committees at the college in the furtherance of its mission.  These include:

  • Campus safety
  • Scholarship committees
  • Civility
  • SACS
  • QEP
  • Ad hoc


The purpose of the Faculty Association is to address matters that relate to the faculty.

All full-time Faculty including librarians and counselors serve as members of the Faculty Association. The Association as a whole annually will elect officers and a nine-member Executive Committee. The Executive Committee meets on a regular and periodic basis with the District President to discuss matters of interest to the faculty. The Chairperson of the Executive Committee will normally serve as the faculty spokesperson and representative of the faculty. The Chairperson will be the point of contact with the faculty and will appoint faculty to other committees as may be required.  The Faculty Association Chair also serves on other committees including the SACSCOC Steering Committee, Campus Safety Committee, and the CQINS Committee.


Fulltime faculty serve on the Academic Council. The Academic Council serves as the Curriculum Review Committee for the college and in this capacity clearly defines the process through which the curriculum is established, reviewed and evaluated. This process recognizes the roles of the Faculty, the Administration, and the Board of Trustees.   Faculty are voting members and have a voice in all academic matters addressed by the Council.  All curriculum changes, including modification of existing programs, program updates, and new program approvals, must be approved by the Academic Council. Academic Council meets monthly during fall and spring semesters (August – May) and can be convened during the summer, if needed.

Membership: The Vice President for Academic Affairs serves as the Chair of the Academic Council.  The Faculty Association and Executive Deans may recommend faculty members on this committee.

Approved: July 20, 2015
Revised: February 28, 2017